F-Bodies Unlimited Message Board  

Go Back   F-Bodies Unlimited Message Board > Technical Discussion > LT1 talk
User Name
Password
Register Photo Gallery User List Calendar KYFU Arcade Active Topics Search Active Topics Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2003, 07:19 PM   #1
NilestRacing
Registered User
 
NilestRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 1,511
O4 Viper 505
NilestRacing idling
lt1 cutting out

I was wondering what you all thought about this problem we are having with our motor. Ok it is a fully built 383 stroker all forged internals clearenced .045 and it has a comp cam, the biggest one summit sells. dont know the specs but could get it. it has double valve springs and the valve guides have been cut down they arnt smashed we checked. we have a painless wiring kit on it, with a tps tuned computer a fireball hi6 ignition tried with with out rev limiter is set at 8500 in computer, also a powerdyne supercharger running 11 psi of boost. ok heres my problem we can free rev our engine fine into the 8000 range but under a load, like a heavy one it cuts out starting at like 5900 and climbing it stiil has the stock optispark new, also new accel wires and plugs adjustable fuel pressure reg set at 25 psi. we can adjust it but it has the fmu so it runs real rich over that. the fuel pump is a bosch rated at 455lph also 27lb pintle stlye injectors. just seeing if any one else had this problem?
__________________
08 audi r8 v10 stock+nawws
NilestRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 07:44 PM   #2
MattD
Registered User
 
MattD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Lexington
Posts: 1,439
05 Mustang GT
MattD idling
Have you checked your valve lash?
What about lifter failure?
Plugs and wires?

I would start with valve lash first.
MattD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 07:48 PM   #3
NilestRacing
Registered User
 
NilestRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 1,511
O4 Viper 505
NilestRacing idling
we checked all that they are fine new plugs wires it was working fine it just started it??
NilestRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 09:48 PM   #4
z2894convertible
Registered User
 
z2894convertible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Elizabethtown, Ky
Posts: 864
94 Z28 Convertible
z2894convertible idling
Re: lt1 cutting out

What is a TPS computer?
z2894convertible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 10:53 PM   #5
FANTA-Z
Im your Huckleberry
 
FANTA-Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Louisville
Posts: 2,219
2010 Camaro 2SSRS
FANTA-Z idling
I would try changing the coil. Just my .02 but my car used to do the same thing start cutting out in high end rpm and when I switched coils it went away.
FANTA-Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 12:52 PM   #6
NilestRacing
Registered User
 
NilestRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 1,511
O4 Viper 505
NilestRacing idling
theres a I in there tpis tuned port induction specialist sorry Im gonna try that coil idea out tonight glenn we recently put a msd blaster one on it though. this one stumps me.
NilestRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 11:28 PM   #7
MattD
Registered User
 
MattD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Lexington
Posts: 1,439
05 Mustang GT
MattD idling
New coils can go bad too. Change it out with a stocker and see how it runs.
MattD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 11:33 AM   #8
94vortechta
 
Posts: n/a
is it possible ur injectors are too small and under a load there not pushin enough fuel wit all that engine work maybe a bigger injector is needed?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 04:38 PM   #9
NilestRacing
Registered User
 
NilestRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 1,511
O4 Viper 505
NilestRacing idling
those injectors will support 750rwhp they cost 650 for the set from tpis
NilestRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2003, 08:29 PM   #10
lt195vette
 
Posts: n/a
Simple way to find out, kind of expensive but it works, Just go to Snapon.com and order an ignition scope for about $15k, hook it up and bingo, instant answer to your questions. A smart a$$ remark, i know, i'm sorry. Seriously though, unless you find out if its on the fuel or the ignition side then you'll probably just end up throwing parts at it until you hit on something that works. "Parts Room Diagnostics" can get to be an expensive way of finding out whats wrong. Take it to a shop, dealership probably, that can hook the car up to a scope and check everything. It will cost some to have them diagnose the problem but could be a lot cheaper doing it that way than messing around swapping parts until you get it right. May be time for some professional help, its no big deal not to be able to diagnose and fix a new car in your driveway. Most people can't, it takes thousands of dollars worth of diagnosis equipment that only a full service diagnostic shop can afford to have and know how to use. It's not the person's fault, these new cars require special tools to figure out what the hell is going on with them.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.


All content property of F-Bodies Unlimited, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.